Common Transfer Credit Issues

Management Information Science (MIS) 310

Texas' statewide field of study curriculum for Business requires a course in business computer applications. This requirement can be satisfied in the McCombs School of Business with transfer credit for the UT Austin course MIS 310. The equivalent course at Texas community colleges is BCIS 1305 (or 1405 in a 4-hour version).

Prospective Texas community college transfer students in Business are advised to take only BCIS 1305 or 1405 to fulfill this requirement. Other business computer application courses typically transfer as generic MIS hours and do not satisfy the computing requirement in the Bachelor of Business Administration degree.

Community colleges known currently to offer BCIS 1305 or 1405 are:

BCIS 1305
(3 semester hour version)
BCIS 1405
(4 semester hour version)
  • Alamo Colleges
  • Alvin Community College
  • Amarillo College
  • Angelina College
  • Austin Community College
  • Blinn College
  • Cisco College
  • Clarendon College
  • College of the Mainland
  • Collin College
  • Del Mar College
  • El Paso Community College
  • Galveston College
  • Grayson College
  • Hill College
  • Howard College
  • Kilgore College
  • Lamar Institute of Technology
  • Lamar State College-Port Arthur
  • Lon Morris College
  • McLennan Community College
  • North Central Texas College
  • Northeast Texas Community College
  • Odessa College
  • Panola College
  • San Jacinto College District
  • Texarkana College
  • Texas Southmost College
  • Texas State Technical College-Harlingen
  • Trinity Valley Community College
  • Vernon College
  • Victoria College
  • Wharton County Junior College
  • Alvin Community College
  • Brazosport College
  • Central Texas College
  • Dallas County Community College District
  • Frank Phillips College
  • Houston Community College System
  • Howard College
  • Lee College
  • Lone Star College System
  • Midland College
  • Odessa College
  • Paris Junior College
  • South Plains College
  • Southwest Texas Junior College
  • Tarrant County College District
  • Temple College
  • Tyler Junior College
  • Weatherford College